Skip to content

Theo Fleury to be inducted in Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in Canmore

Canadian hockey legend Theo Fleury leads the class of 2019 Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame inductions taking place in Canmore next week.

CANMORE – Canadian hockey legend Theo Fleury leads the class of 2019 Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame (AHHF) inductions taking place in Canmore next week.

The third annual induction takes place next Sunday (July 21), starting at 1 p.m. with the VIP reception at the Canmore Opera House in Spring Creek Mountain Village. Tickets are $50. At 5 p.m., the awards gala and hockey celebration takes place at the Coast Hotel. Tickets are $150 for the gala, or $180 for both events.

As a new addition to this year’s ceremony, $25 of each VIP reception ticket will go towards the Canmore Minor Hockey Association and Canmore Eagles.

“We wanted to incorporate a give back to the community,” said Serge Ouimette, chair of Canmore’s AHHF VIP Reception Event Committee. “We have the stars in the hockey realm in Alberta here, so let’s do something while they’re here in town.”

At the ceremony, Fleury will be inducted with Shirley Cameron, Kevin Lowe, Duncan MacDougall, Bob Ridley and the 1986-87 and ‘87-88 Medicine Hat Tigers Memorial Cup champions.

Fleury said it was an honour to be inducted during the announcement in March.

Standing at five-foot-six, Fleury punched above his weight on the ice throughout his career. The Saskatchewan born player was an NHL all-star, Stanley Cup winner in 1988-89 with the Calgary Flames, and 2002 Olympic gold medallist with team Canada. Off the ice, Fleury is an author, motivational speaker and expert in relational trauma – which is a form of PTSD, brought on as harm done to one person by another in a marital/primary relationship through any form of abuse, be it emotional, physical or sexual, according to

An on ice rival of Fleury’s joining him in Canmore will be Lowe, a former NHL All-Star and winner of six Stanley Cups over his career, including five with the Edmonton Oilers, who also got the hall of fame nod.

“I was born in Quebec, but I’ve spent two thirds of my life in Alberta,” Lowe said during the induction announcement in March. “I’m a very proud Albertan … I will certainly always be an Albertan.”

Bonnyville’s Cameron was instrumental in the development of women’s hockey the province since the ‘70s as a player and coach.

MacDougall played a significant role in developing on-ice officials for over more than 40 years in Alberta.

Ridley has been in the sports journalism business for 50 years covering amateur sports in Medicine Hat with CHAT TV & Radio and has been a major part of the Medicine Hat Tigers since its inception in 1970.

The Tigers are the only Alberta junior hockey team to win consecutive Memorial Cups.

For more information on the inductees, visit


Jordan Small

About the Author: Jordan Small

Jordan Small joined the Outlook in 2014 and covers the vast world of sports in the Bow Valley. A Barrie, Ont. native, he also wrote for RMO's Mountain Guide section and the MD of Bighorn beat.
Read more