Skip to content

Opinion

Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 25, 2021

Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 25, 2021

EDITORIAL: Who controls the future of development in Canmore?

There is a lot of discussion in the community about the future of development in Canmore with two new Three Sisters Mountain Village area structure plans on the table for council's consideration.

OPINION: Resilience and self-reliance key to pandemic recovery

Instead, we need to build resilience into our systems. We need to value quality and safety over economic efficiency. We need to see the delivery of public goods like health care and senior care as the investments they are. We must not let politicians convince us that the well-being of Canadians, young or old, is a frivolous expense to be minimized.
Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 18, 2021

Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 18, 2021

EDITORIAL: UCP reinstating coal policy is only the first step

On Tuesday (Feb. 8), Minister of Energy Sonya Savage announced the UCP government would reverse its decision to scrap the 1976 comprehensive coal policy.

OPINION: Shifting gears on child sexual abuse

Warning: The following opinion piece may be triggering to some readers. A list of available resources is included below.

OPINION: COVID kindness is a different kind

Many of my recent kindness conversations are about dropping food at the homes of others – neighbours, friends or strangers. The intention is noble, the responses vary.

EDITORIAL: REST Program a welcome addition to Canmore

By providing temporary, emergency shelter space for those who need it, our community will have provided additional safety and protection for the most vulnerable. 
Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 4, 2021

Editorial Cartoon, Feb. 4, 2021

Editorial Cartoon, Jan. 28, 2021

Editorial Cartoon, Jan. 28, 2021